Black rhino extinct?

falling rain

Native
Oct 17, 2003
Woodbury Devon
leon-1 said:
I thought that the breeding program that they had set up (I think it was Aspinell's) was working well and they were re-intoducing to the wild:confused:

Not heard of that Leon. Mind you I'm no expert. I hope you're right.
All I can say is ....Nice one..... People have once again managed to make extinct a beautiful animal for their greed. Oh well never mind, we'll just move on to the white rhino and see if we can manage the same with those as well, and why stop there?, lets totally collapse the cod stocks while we're at it, and then we'll move on to the...................makes me very miffed!!

leon-1

Nick, I know that the black rhino had a program with one of the groups, this is slightly different as this is one of the sub species and I agree that it is a very sad occasion if indeed it is true that the western has indeed slipped into the west.

Hopefully it will not be the case and that a remnant can be found, in which case it's capture would probably be the best thing for it (as much as it may sound harsh) and that at a later date a full re-introduction via a breeding program may be carried out.

SowthEfrikan

Tenderfoot
Jul 9, 2006
Texas, USA
That's not to say I don't believe in shooting and eating Bambi, and mumsie too, just that it is unfortunate that the demand for ivory was such that rhino and elephant didn't really stand much of a chance.

South Africa is one of the few countries still rich in game. Zimbabwe was not doing badly either, but then Robber Mugabe came along. Now Zimbs are reduced to eating virtually anything that moves.

It's less a question of greed, in Africa, than a question of survival.

leon-b

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 31, 2006
Who knows
yes me neither i i often go shooting with a group of us and i love the whole hunting thing, but i dont think its fair to hunt just for the ivory so that you can make money
leon

ScottC

Banned
May 2, 2004