Birch Sap! We have lift off!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

yarrow

Forager
Nov 23, 2004
Dublin
For all those who are interested the Birch sap is on the rise. Been out today with my tapping gear. It seems to be flowing at a fair rate, but recon it'll be next week befor it reaches full flow. For all thoes wine makers out there, it's time to dust off the demijons and head for the woods! :D

andyn

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Hampshire
www.naturescraft.co.uk
The sap was rising pretty rapidly this weekend and I tapped a couple of litres yesterday afternoon which i picked up after work today :D

Its my first year that i've done any tapping or tasted birch sap, and i was very pleased by its flavour. Yum.

yarrow

Forager
Nov 23, 2004
Dublin
4lt's so far with 9 more 750ml bottles out. I will post some pic's later. Interested to know how much people collect & what they are doing with it!

benjamin.oneill

Forager
Jan 31, 2006
East Sussex, UK
DSCN0424.jpg

Here's the return so far from my first tree... i think you might just about notice a few tablespoons worth in the bottom there.

DSCN0426.jpg

This is just to show my little tapping rig. It's just a split down piece of bamboo with a notch cut in it, over which the bottle hangs. Its very simple and the thinking is that any drips that run a long the bottom of the tap are collected. Also, the bottle is sealed from bits and evapouration, not that that would matter, its still pretty cold here.

yarrow

Forager
Nov 23, 2004
Dublin
Here's the pics of the birch sap I collected. It is now busy bubbling away in the demijohn.
IMG_4718.jpg
[/IMG]

IMG_4720.jpg
[/IMG]

IMG_4725.jpg
[/IMG]

Never made this wine before so Im looking forward to trying it. :D