Beginners kit

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Daveyboy33i

Mar 18, 2023
United Kingdom
As I am very new to this life, could I get some help or ideas of what sort of hardware I might need? I am guessing an axe and a knife… but where do I go from there please?

MattyWW

Feb 11, 2023
Leamington Spa
Hey Daveyboy! It's really fun at this stage. You can repurpose a fair amount of stuff that you may have lying around at home – mugs, pans etc, then build up kit as you find you need it.

The basics are shelter, food, water and fire.

A cheap axe (car boot/antique fairs are good places) and something like a Mora would start you off right. I've got an 35l army surplus rucksack (cost me £30)which fits pretty much everything in.

Something to make a cup of tea/hot chocolate/noodles can be done cheaply. There's tonnes of options for this, and I've really enjoyed researching and testing out various options, from jetboils to the BCB folding stoves and everything else in between. You really don't need to spend a fortune to get out there. Water bottles are anything from a use pop bottle to a super expensive space age mega light titanium flashy bottle.

Something to light a fire – always a cheap lighter, then you can have fun making up a fire kit with ferro rods, and home made firestarters (vaseline and cotton wool). The same with a first aid kit – think cuts and burns as a base.

Shelters can be a simple as a tarp from the DIY to a poncho to bushcraft tarps to tents. Build up as you go along.

A good bushcraft book is also a great bit of kit – from knots, to foraging there's loads of knowledge to get stuck into – as much as you want.

Youtube has a plethera of info – I really got into bushcraft after watching Hidden Valley Bushcraft and followed his recommendations. I've built on that as i've got more experienced.

MrEd