Beginners bushcraft hike; a few thoughts (text heavy)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mjk123

Need to contact Admin...
Jul 24, 2006
Switzerland
A few days ago I went on a three day hike through Switzerlands “pre-Alps”. I’d decided to take everything with me, rather than stay in hotels and eat in restaurants. Basically, the trip consisted of walking, eating and sleeping. I’m by no means an expert on hiking or bushcraft, so I offer these thoughts simply because other people might be in my position.

Walking
I guess it goes without saying that your boots should be comfortable. But I was surprised at what a difference a full pack can make; my feet were getting pushed into the boot much more than when I’m not laden. Fortunately my boots feel like slippers when not laden. I’d toyed with the idea of some mega expensive socks. In the end I went for some fairly normal walking socks from the supermarket. They seem to have some kind of matting on the sole (a bit like a soft scouring pad). These worked really well and kept my feet dry. In spite of being quite thick, my feet never felt hot. I’m by no means super-fit, but I managed to walk for about 9 hours per day carrying 19kg, covering about 25 km per day. On the flat, I got quite used to the weight. On inclines the pack really made its’ presence felt. I found the key to be just plod along, trying not to get out of breath. There were regular steady climbs of several hundred metres. The plod along slowly philosophy worked there too.

Eating