Basic Skills Advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Luxso9929

Dec 9, 2021
Sheffield
Hi guys,

I'm new to the game so I was wondering what peoples advice would be as far as what skills are the most important to develop? I have basic camping knowledge as far as setting up equipment and spending a night in a tent goes but other than that I'm a newbie.

many thanks.

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
Hello and welcome.

Camping on sites or wild camping? If you are already wild camping, then it might safely be assumed that you already know navigation, terrain reading and site selection, and dressing for conditions and exertion.

What skills are important for you will depend on what you want to do and where you want to do it. If this is just something you are interested in it might be hard to say something is "important" for you to develop. For instance, you don't need to know plant identification, but if you are going to forage you do need to know enough to pick what you want, not poison yourself, and not strip the resource bare.

Personally I like basic tree identification and reading up about the properties and characteristics of trees (what makes good firewood, what makes good tools, what tends to drop branches!) , half a dozen knots (see Tarpology thread), safe use of cutting tools and fire craft. The latter isn't because I need a fire, but if I ever do light one I want it to work and I want to stay in control of it.

Chris

Hi guys,

I'm new to the game so I was wondering what peoples advice would be as far as what skills are the most important to develop? I have basic camping knowledge as far as setting up equipment and spending a night in a tent goes but other than that I'm a newbie.

many thanks.