Basha/ poncho erection system with speed of bungee & lightness of cord

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Sep 14, 2011
ireland
I hope you're all well thank you for looking at this post.
I am a outdoor pursuits instructor ( mainly watersports) and have a number of years military service, infantry and Naval. I would like to know what you guys think is the quickest lightest and even cheapest basha/ poncho shelter erection system.
I have tried a number of systems which you guys may be familiar with: bungees, cord, knotted para cord with short bungee loop for shock absorption. My reasoning to find out is just a by product of years outdoors, always looking for the elusive silver bullet to make life easier.
In the army bungees were a must for speed but were heavy, as well as the ever present danger of being impaled. Cord although versitile and light was to slow for my ever rushed commanders; as well as prone to sagging and tangling. I am experimenting with a loop of knotted paracord with a section of shock cord girth hitched on to my basha/poncho depending on the situation.
In short, what system do you use has the fastest setup tear down time and combined with the lightness of cord. Cost is also an issue as being able to avoid unnecessary expense is always a winner for me. Oh forgot to mention, being able to be used between trees or with basha poles in the absence of them. As I am primarily am on the ground with a bivvy bag, though systems for hammocks are interesting also. Please post system description, set up speed, weight and cost.
Many thanks for reading this and I look forward to hearing from you
Phee

ged

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
Four posts in four years?! This is going to take a while. :)