Apologies if I'm being a newb :)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

BunnyMazonas

Sep 13, 2010
Kent
Hello!

Just joined the forum, had a browse of the various areas before posting and hope you don't mind me jumping in so soon after joining! I normally lurk a little longer first, but am quite excited to find this group.

I'm new to foraging/scrumping and the like, but it is something I am interested in and keen to enjoy.

Went out to Folkestone park down by the coast this weekend and found one of the many abandoned cliff paths was strewn heavily with blackberries and rosehips ripe for the picking. Got a lovely haul that I've been working up into candied rosehips and jam.

I also found a snowberry bush and have read various conflicting reports that they are good to eat, okay to eat but bitter, a starvation food only, mildly toxic causing stomach upsets and severely toxic. I guess I'll play it safe nd avoid eating those, then!

The main area of the park comprises of a rough-kept, rambling, wooded area filled with childrens play equipment, and a more pruned, ornamental area with gravel paths and curving grassy sections. The decorative area has recently been planted up with a few fig trees; small in size, but already flush with immature figs tht will ripen next Spring. I'm debating asking around to see if the local council would object to the figs being scrumped, since I expect they'll be left for the birds otherwise.

I was wondering if anyone can recommend any good places to go out walking for a forage near Folkestone, if there are any Kentish folk on here? I don't drive so my options are limited, and my research so far has been very, very unsuccessful!

JonathanD

Ophiological Genius
Sep 3, 2004
Stourton,UK