Alan Wood - Woodlore knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bushwacker bob

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 22, 2003
STRANGEUS PLACEUS
Joe, Dont buy one on Ebay as they are usually about £100 ott of a new one. better off getting a WS version from Ray Mears if your in a hurry as they are only(ha ha) £95.or book the real mccoy from Alan and wait. There are alternatives that are as good but cheaper,check out Allan Blade knives or Bark River on British blades. You could have a custom Knife made to your own spec for less than £100!

Squidders

Aug 3, 2004
Harrow, Middlesex
Well, I guess the preference has been dealt with by the MANY other threads... I was actually after that knife as it was the benchmark knife that everyone measures others against.

As I'm not very experienced I figure it's going to be a good idea to spend some time with it so I can draw my own conclusions.

I have different shaped hands to everyone else, I do most things badly so I’m going to need to draw my own conclusions and also, I think it's a really nice looking knife. aesthetically very pleasing.

Besides, If they are well looked after, there's no reason I shouldn't be able to sell it on ebay for as much as I bought it for... even if I pay over the odds I’m going to get it back. unless I really like it and decide to keep it :roll:

I have been eyeing up the WS version though... with the wooden handle.

Joe

Gary

Apr 17, 2003
from Essex
Joe, another thing to consider is how familiar are you with knives! With any new hobby or interest it is tempting to jump in and buy the most expensive thing because you perceive it to be the best only to find out as experience grows that it wasnt quite what you wanted - or worse through inexperience that you have ruined it long before you learned how to use it correctly.