Advice needed on PMR radios.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

BigMonster

Sep 6, 2011
Manchester
Hi guys.
One of my friends had a pair of walkie talkies last time I wen't to Snowdonia and they really made a difference. So I'm thinking about buying a pair for myself but I have no experience with stuff available on the market.

1. I am a big CB enthusiast and have all the toys for that so I really only need a pair of basic, bomb proof and light radios for ocasional walk.
2. Like above, less "features" the better. I have no need for VOX, baby watch etc and I'm perfectly aware of the limitations of this kind of equipment like the range. So I just need something that won't die on me (waterproofnes would be nice).
3. Cheaper the better (but without sacrificing the performance).
4. I have a good battery charger and plenty of AA batteries...

These look nice: http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/search/go?view=grid&w=radio as I can do a price match and have them under £30. Any experience with any of them?

So throw a few brands and models at me :)

subzeer0

Tenderfoot
Apr 30, 2014
East of Durham
i may be be able to get you 2 pair of Cobra MT245 PMR 5km range sealed £20 posted per pair...unless me mate has sold them...and they are triple aaa nimh batteries

they work fine for when we are out ratting

Pterodaktyl

Jun 17, 2013
Devon
You should be able to get something around the £30 mark that meets all those requirements except waterproofing. The cheapest weatherproof PMR radio I know of is the Motorola Tlkr T80 Extreme (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Motorola-Ta...F8&qid=1423649430&sr=1-5&keywords=t80+extreme) which retails for about £80 for a pair.