advice needed for petrol stove

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
normally i prefer a campfire for cooking, but there are quite a few places (national parks etc.)where fires are not permitted, so i guess i'll have to get me a stove... . i tried alcohol burners- reliable but ****-poor slow; gas stove are something i do not really like- gas is not everywhere available, empty cartouches are not very environment-friendly, you never know how much gas is left +i saw gas stoves exploding... . so my best solution seems a petrol stove as petrol is available at every petrol station. problem: i have no experience with them... . can anyone recommend a petrol stove for a single person, suitable for backpacking(= light), reliable and spareparts widely available? as i'm currently travelling through asia and not all european/north american brands are available over here any info's about stoves from this part of the world would be especially helpfull... .

thanks!!!

gorilla

Settler
Jun 8, 2007
merseyside, england
any of the coleman stoves are good, but unleaded petrol is so full of additives nowadays, that you no longer get a decent burn, and it will ultimately wreck your stove. with that in mind, a multi-fuel stove like an MSR Whisperlite is more the way to go, as you will have to carry your fuel or buy it en route anyway, so give yourself the most options!

rancid badger

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
I've seen a couple of petrol stoves go up in spectacular fashion, operated by "Bulls Clems" admittedly but I'd have thought that kerosine ( paraffin) would be easily available throughout Asia? A much safer option than petrol in my mind.

I'd ask the locals what they use and go from there.

If you can get one: ditto the MSR Whisperlite:)

cheers

R.B.

baggins

Apr 20, 2005
Coventry (and surveying trees uk wide)