A welome and a plea for help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Biddlesby

Settler
May 16, 2005
Frankfurt
Hello. My name is Harry, and I'm quite new to the 'scene'. I've been camping in fields and whatnot before, but Ray [The God] Mear's series has enlightened me.

I'm 16, and live in rural Norfolk. I've got some wooded areas around me, and quite a big garden, so I'm hoping to hone my skills there. I've recently bought a Bushcraft book to help things along, which is very interesting. In the future I hope to take part on a bushcraft course, then go to Norway, Sweden, or perhaps canada.

Now for the help. I'm planning a trip to Scotland next month, with a friend. I've climbed mountains in the Snowdon range before, but never camped on any, which is what I'm hoping to do with the Southern Uplands. I'm stubbornly refusing to take a gas stove, but I'm not confident in my abilities. It's only for three or four days, so if i do starve i reckon i'll live through it, but I don't particularly want to fall back on that ^^.

Firstly - are there many woods in Scotland? We're not sure of destination - near Dumfries or Kroydart perhaps. And, would it be likely to rain? If so, would making a campfire be near impossible? This is the end of June, so I'm hoping the weather will be mild.

Secondly, will there be adaquate drinkable water sources?

I know these questions are vague, but so is my knowledge. I welcome any wisdom about mountains to travel. Ideally it needs to be near a town so I can get a train or a bus there.

This brings me to equipment. A tent shouldn't be a problem, nor should cooking or axes (will I need one for firewood? I've got a small one if necessary...). I do however, need:

• A knife
  • A rucksack - 35 litre
  • Footwear
  • Perhaps some clothing