A sand Hangi - is it feasible?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Totumpole

Native
Jan 16, 2011
Cairns, Australia
i've been tasked with food prep for my close friends Stag do. THe main event (ie evening p**s up) is going to be a big fire on the beach, which led me to thinking about a HAngi on the beach.

Now I've never done a Hangi before, let alone a hangi with a twist. I'm thinking the principle should be the same, but my concern is that sand will be a far better insulator and might cook the meat too quickly.

THoughts, comments and experiences please (and any Hangi oven pictures to spice up the thread would be a bonus)

Thanks to all in advance.

Colin

Huon

Native
May 12, 2004
Spain
I've never made on in the sand but I see no reason why not. See here:

http://stason.org/TULARC/travel/new-zealand/C4-2-4-New-Zealand-Laying-A-Hangi-p1.html

Cheers!

Huon (a Kiwi)

i've been tasked with food prep for my close friends Stag do. THe main event (ie evening p**s up) is going to be a big fire on the beach, which led me to thinking about a HAngi on the beach.

Now I've never done a Hangi before, let alone a hangi with a twist. I'm thinking the principle should be the same, but my concern is that sand will be a far better insulator and might cook the meat too quickly.

THoughts, comments and experiences please (and any Hangi oven pictures to spice up the thread would be a bonus)

Thanks to all in advance.

Colin

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Speak to Buckshot, sargey, Moduser or the other Mods who organise the hangi at the Moot every year. That's on sand :cool:

cheers,
Toddy

Buckshot

Mod
Mod
Jan 19, 2004
Oxford
Absolutely no problem. If you make the sides too verticle as they dry out they tend to crumble in