A Canadian 'Hello' from Oxford

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Palaeocory

Forager
Hi everyone,

My name's Cory and I'm new to the bushcrafting world. I'm a PhD student at Southampton Uni (though living in Oxford) studying Palaeolithic archaeology, hence a big interest in primitive technologies and bushcraft. I like flint knapping and have been practicing for a couple years now, and my husband and I enjoy exploring Britain's walking trails. I'm currently trying to learn to recognize more tree types - being from Canada (Vancouver Island, pacific northwest) and surrounded by mostly conifers, there's been lots to learn!

Two years ago myself and a few colleagues at Oxford Uni started a Palaeolithic technologies society (check out our group on Facebook, the Oxford Palaeotechology Society) where we run fun sessions for people to learn more about stone age behaviour in a hands-on way. It's been really interesting. Please PM me if you'd like to be added to our mailing list, we'll be starting up new events in the Autumn (open to everyone, £5 for a year long membership!)

I just bought my first bushcraft knife and it's on its way in the post (a Mora Clipper) and I'm looking forward to making a sheath for it out of some spare leather when it comes (is hair-on cow hide a good idea or no?).

I'm looking forward to learning lots on the forum :)

Cory

Palaeocory

Forager
Oh wow - I'm thrilled to see another BCer! Those mountains are so beautiful they make me weep. The number one thing I miss living in England... I'm thinking a move to North Wales is in order when I 'grow up' and am no longer a student.

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
Cory: "Super, Natural British Columbia" is still as spectacular as you remember. Google McBride, BC to look at my place.