What Steel?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

ranger

Forager
Nov 3, 2003
South East
I am having a new knife made and am in a conundrum as to what steel to choose. I am offered a choice of three steels, 01, A2 and CPM 3V. Its intended use is bushcraft/carving and the ability to strike a spark from the spine with a fire steel would be preferable. I have plenty of experience with 01, very limited with A2 and none whatsoever with CPM 3V. For use with a fire steel the maker recommends 01, however, I also have a knife in RWL 34 and have no problem with using that with a fire steel. What steel would you go for?

JonathanD

Ophiological Genius
Sep 3, 2004
Stourton,UK
All will perform as well as each other with a firesteel, the steel has nothing to do with it, but the sharpness of the spine. If you want a blade to care for, cherish and that has personality and will age and acquire a patina with each adventure, go for 01. You can't ignore the fact that it is the most popular bushcrafting steel. RWL-34 is fantastic, I have no opinion of the other two as they fall in between 01 and RWL and don't exite me as much.

ranger

Forager
Nov 3, 2003
South East
I have a mixture of sharpening options ranging from waterstones to diamond hones. I can’t say I resort to these a great deal as I’m careful with my knives and use a leather strop after each time I use one of them, which on the whole seems to keep them sharp enough.

Barney

Settler
Aug 15, 2008
Lancashire
If you have the capability to field sharpen a good steel then I would forget O1 and concentrate on the other two materials which have slightly different properties. I do wonder though why you have not been offered d2 instead of a2 which in my opinion bridges the gap between O1 and CPM3v a little better.

How much time are you prepared to spend looking after it?

ranger