Being homeless - tent, rucksack advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
R

ross2503

Hi I just joined this forum. I'm an unemployed teacher who was made redundant last year and as a result of the benefit cutbacks and landlords not willing to rent a house to someone unemployed, I've ha a pretty tough year. I was homeless for a little while with my dog but managed to find a house to rent but I'm facing the same situation again because Housing Benefit has been reduced and at the same time my landlady is increasing the rent (postponed twice already but she won't do it again) so I can't afford to stay where I am. I can't see any way out of the fact that I am going to be sleeping rough in May with my dog.

I want advice about tents and rucksacks. I don't know if I should post about each on different threads but anyway..

I realise public camping is illegal in England but I don't have much choice. I'll have to find some secluded spot in parks and hope for the best. I am considering Scotland as I can get my JSA transferred to Scotland and I cam wild legally outside of the city centre. I need to decide. Any tips from anyone who has experience sleeping illegally?

I have to start out by saying my budget is absolutely limited. I've more or less decided on the 3 man Vango Bashee 300 which is currently £90 as I've read some good reviews and a few not so good. My main concern is being durable in wind and rain as I'm going to be sleeping in this every night for I don't know how long. This is the limit of by budget for a tent so my question is - is this the best tent for the money that is most likely to suit my needs? The attraction is the 5000 hydrostatic head rating and having slightly more room that a 2 man as I'll have my back pack and dog with me. I refuse to give her up, she's my family,