Yellowstone aurora / Alocs cookset review

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

neoaliphant

Settler
Aug 24, 2009
Somerset
Nice review Aloc.

I've just bought one of the Yellowstone spirit burners - not the full kit.

There are no instructions on filling it with spirit - can you give me any guidance - I've no experience with these and don't want to create a fireball

Also I guess the sliding bit on the snuffing out cap is to create a reduced flame - am I right?

Thanks

I heard that sometimes the holes arernt quite clear at manufacture, and poking them with a pin before first use, also to wash with water to flush any residual manufacturing process chemicals.

Burner on its own currently £6 at wilkinson...

gixer

Dec 16, 2012
Midlands
Great review, thanks for sharing.

Seems like it's a LOT of weight to be lugging around for such an inefficient system though.
I'm using a Vargo triad or Evernew burner with either a 750ml or a 450ml cup

Vargo triad = 26g
Evernew burner with Trivet = 56g
450ml ti cup = 71g

Andy BB

Apr 19, 2010
Hampshire
Why does everyone wait for the burner to "bloom" before starting cooking?! Light it, and then put the pot on. THe reflected heat from the bottom of the pan will speed up the bloom time substantially, you're not wasting meths waiting for the bloom to occur and the water etc will start warming immediately.

Phil B

Settler
Jan 28, 2006
Beverley, Yorkshire.
Why does everyone wait for the burner to "bloom" before starting cooking?! Light it, and then put the pot on. THe reflected heat from the bottom of the pan will speed up the bloom time substantially, you're not wasting meths waiting for the bloom to occur and the water etc will start warming immediately.

I'm no fan of meths stoves as it's so hard to see the flames when a spill is lit and it's a slow to heat anyway.