Work Gloves and RM

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

BorderReiver

Mar 31, 2004
Norfolk U.K.
Just seen RM's canoe building programme.I enjoyed it but was a bit puzzled that someone with Ray's experience would let his hands get into such a mess. :confused:

One of the first things we learn is to look after our tools so that they don't let us down when we need them;this surely applies to our hands as well.If your hands are too roughed up to use when out in remote areas then you could be in real trouble :eek:

Why did he not wear a pair of good leather work gloves I wonder?

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
I hate wearing gloves when I'm making something, I like to be able to feel what I'm doing, I like to have my hands in contact with the object. I used to be a cabinet maker and carpenter and you often just feel that something is right....

But hey, that's just me ;)

BorderReiver

Mar 31, 2004
Norfolk U.K.
Tony said:
I hate wearing gloves when I'm making something, I like to be able to feel what I'm doing
But hey, that's just me ;)

Me too funnily enough,but there was a LOT of rough work to get through and he could have saved his hands a fair bit before getting to the "finer" work.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
I use my hands constantly, and depending on what I'm doing I use gloves. My hands are too importantly useful not to take enough care of them that I limit the amount of little injuries that cause splinters, hacks, nippy wee cuts and torn quicks.