Wool shirt on a budget?

paulnb57

Nov 18, 2007
Isle of Wight
Hi folks

I would like a wool lumberjack type shirt, to wear as a top layer, but on a budget, I can't justify Swanni or similar prices, anyone care to share experiences?

Paul

Corso

Aug 13, 2007
none
I'd try vintage pendleton shirts

ebay or etsy.com often have them

google also has a few hits for retro/vintage shops that should be able to help

MartiniDave

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 29, 2003
Cambridgeshire
I got a similarly patterned, fleecy lined work shirt off the market for about a tenner, cotton outer buttoned pockets etc. Works a treat and doesn't pick up sawdust like a swanni's weave.

Dave

tombear

On a new journey
Jul 9, 2004
Rossendale, Lancashire
Army stores still have wool flannel shirts, you can still get them unissued if your a slim sized. I wore them all the time when I was a impoverished student and never found them itchy. Picked up one incredibly good quality one for one of my sons that was from a cancelled / embargoed order for the Iraqi army pre the wars. The material is every bit as good as the Swannis and Bisons so many recommend.

Unfortunatly I have only one that fits me now (still don't ware it as its embarrassingly tight) a last issue hair shirt with a size 19 label. Totally not within the normal sizing range, I've used it as a blanket for a toddler its that big...

ATB

Tom

Monspoonmaker

Mar 15, 2014
Silures
I've had great use from 1951 US army wool shirts from Korean War era. Can pick them up on e bay from £5-£10. Also Rokit have them in from time to time but at a higher cost.

MikeLA

May 17, 2011
Northumberland