Winter Barks

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
On the walk down the castle woodlands this morning I took loads of photographs of the texture of the different tree barks.
For some reason I find the shapes, the grains, the colours and textures fascinating.

I freely admit I'm not good at identification of many of them, but I'd love to learn to be more confident about it. Bark ID is acknowledged to be an excellent method of tree recognition, though I'm told that bud tips should be included. Nothing is budding here just now, and most of the tree branches were way too high up for me to get any shots of them.

What do you think ? :D

IMG_1087.JPG

Number one.

IMG_1088.JPG

Number one, closer shot.

IMG_1091.JPG

Number two.

IMG_1090.JPG

Number two, closer shot.

IMG_1093.JPG

Number three.

IMG_1110.JPG

Number four, showing clearly why our bark isn't as useful as the continental, European or American, varieties.

IMG_1111.JPG

Number five. Anyone know what this bright orange is ? It's on lots of trees around here. It really is *orange* too. Stands out like bright rust.

IMG_1112.JPG

Number six, showing that bright orange stuff again.

IMG_1113.JPG

This is another number two, but look at the huge burr/ egg/ whatjamacallit, high up on the right. These carve beautifully and they just knock off the trees.

IMG_1095.JPG

Number two, a different tree, there's something about the bark that really caught my attention today :)

IMG_1115.JPG

Number seven, and it's Scot's Pine, but what is the little fungus ? It's white with frost just now but it's a tiny bracket.

IMG_1120.JPG

Number eight.

IMG_1122.JPG

Number nine, sorry, no close up, but the shape is distinctive.

HWMBLT takes no blame for this set folks, any criticism for the photography should be directed at me :)

cheers,
Toddy

Last edited:

porchini

Forager
Sep 18, 2008
stockport