Wildlife in the Forest of Dean

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Paul_Davies

Oct 2, 2021
South Wales
Hey Folks!
Im new to 'wildlife watching' but being as im only an hour from the forest of dean i plan on getting out there this weekend in my cabbage clothes and sitting still to observe any wildlife.
Im aware there are Boar and Deer in the Forest if Dean and it would be amazing to spot them.
I love the idea of tracking animals but i'm a complete newbie it.
My question is do any of you have any advice or knowledge on some wilder/quieter (less people/trails) areas of the Forest of Dean?
Looking at the map of F.O.D is seems roads cut & disect the woodland everywhere which seems unfortunate.. but thats a different topic :)

Reactions: wookii

Van-Wild

Feb 17, 2018
UK
Hi, I lived near the FOD quite a few years ago (2000s).

Although it is quite disturbed by us humans, the wildlife there is pretty used to us now, which will give you some great opportunities to spot stuff. I recommend heading to banks of the Severn near the Abbey. In the evening and very early morning there are deer in the meadows on the Eastern Bank. Near there is also a place called Lovers Leap, a high rock face that is notorious for erm.... well. But for bird spotting it's great. From the meadow opposite you can spot some wonderful birds dancing on the thermals.

With some considerate parking near the Abbey and a gentle walk for a km or so, I'm sure you'll be set to sit somewhere and spot the nature.