Wild boar

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
Am planning some hiking in the Ardennes, where wild boar are a significant presence. I know that boar can be a hazard to hikers in the woods, but I have no experience of them, or knowledge of how to deal with them, other than that to avoid them when they have young at heal.

Can anyone offer any advice/guidance on what to do to make sure that I don't wake up to find a tusk or snout rooting through my camp?

Thanks

Julia

Ruud

Jun 29, 2012
Belgium
www.rudecheers.wordpress.com
Great to hear some people come overseas to enjoy our Ardennes!

Make sure to keep camp nice and tidy. Any sort of food will attract them (sweets, meat, fruits). Keep the food away from camp at least 100 meters and get it up in the air, like a bear-bag, or it will be eaten for sure. They also like to take small objects with them, like shoes (my friend had to go home without shoes once...).

You can see a lot of signs of their presence (trails, big pools of mud). Try to avoid going into patches of ferns and thick patches of small pines or firs (which is where they spend most of their time during the day). I only had a boar-encounter once in the Ardennes, so you'll be actually very lucky to see one up close :D

In the area of Herbeumont there are also rams, which are even more aggressive than boars.

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
My suggestion is a Marlin Guide Gun in 45-70 and a holo sight :lmao:

...and a good sausage machine of course!

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
Great to hear some people come overseas to enjoy our Ardennes!

Spent a weekend in Wiltz in Luxembourg, and will be visiting 3 times next year (Spring, Summer, Autumn). Stunningly beautiful scenery.