What size bag and battery solar charger

Deano3

Tenderfoot
Jan 1, 2012
Newcastle
Hi all i was recently asking about lowe alpine sting back what i might purchase, i am new to this and want to go wild camping for weekends etc over the lakes just wondering what size bag is required for this to hold my vangoo banshee tent + bag + gear would you say that this bag is about right ? i will also requre day sack for hiking eventually,

also i am thinking about a batter solar charger are any of them decent and batters actually last for a resonable price and does anyone else use them

thanks Dean

Chrisf

Aug 24, 2012
South yorkshire
I have a solar power monkey. I forget the model but it's the new high capacity high cost one. I bought it to keep my iPhone charged on a five day trip and it failed. The battery pack did charge up my phone about three times but the Solar charging really is slow and a pain to setup and carry around. Once the storage battery was flat i never got it backup to full charge as this takes 13 hours. Smart phones are very power hungry so I also have a cheap pay as you go sonim phone and that last months turned off and about a week of normal use. The power monkey battery pack is also a bit bulky and heavy.

Chris

brambles

Settler
Apr 26, 2012
Aberdeenshire
I don't think that the UK gets strong enough and long enough sun to make a portable solar pack worthwhile - I use a New Trent Li-Ion 7000mAh battery pack that will charge my iPhone about 3 times and is about 1.5 times the size of the phone.

Deano3

Tenderfoot
Jan 1, 2012
Newcastle
i seen one called power bee what seems ok but i wanted one that charges batterys incase all go flat etc any one know of any ?

thanks for replys
Dean

cbr6fs

Native
Mar 30, 2011
Athens, Greece
Tried a few solar chargers and even over here in sunny Greece they're useless.