What GPS to buy?

Mar 13, 2009
Hello all,

So what is your favorite GPS? I am a noob backpacker and still learning here. I took the REI GPS basics course last night and checked out a few different GPS models. I was told that a lot of those new iPhone looking Garmins are really just for looks, but nothing else good about them. Is there a particular model you guys would suggest? Right now I am leaning towards the DeLorme PN40…

What I am looking for in a GPS:
1. I am going to be using it for backpacking only (deep woods eventually)
2. I want a color screen (Hopefully topographical)
3. Needs to run off AA or AAA batteries, no rechargeable stuff please.

Idea? Comments? Concerns? Suggestions?

Thanks for the help all!!!

Retired Member southey

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jun 4, 2006
your house!
I use an etrex as a back up for confirmation of position, I`ll allways carry a map and compass for primary navigation, i just can`t bring myself to rely on a gps with mapping software as a primary, but i can`t recomend the etrex enough, it`s light and easy to use and to change units of mesure or input a gridref for route planning, mine has never let me down,

jimford

Settler
Mar 19, 2009
Hertfordshire
In my experience, forget using a hand-held GPS in any sort of wooded cover.

You can have my Garmin Legend for free if you collect it - it's somewhere on the Eastern slopes of Beinn a' Bhuird in the Cairngorms!

Jim

scrogger

Native
Sep 16, 2008
east yorkshire
Ouch !! Jim did you lose it by accident or throw it in temper!!! lol

As Southey says there is realy no substitue for good map reading and compass skills.
These should always be forefront of what you do. However a gps can be a useful tool to gain a grid ref or position from for you to aim back off from or get your bearings, if only to re affirm where you are on your map and then start to use compass again.