What edged tool next for newbie?

Grendel

Settler
Mar 20, 2011
Southampton
I'm new to the whole bushcraft thing and wandered what edged tools would be useful when starting out. I already have a Carbon steel bowie knife I got as kid which may or may not be of use after I took it to be sharpened and they used an angle grinder on it (Fecking Muppets):

gun 004.jpgView attachment 5552View attachment 5553

I was thinking a double edge Billhook would be of more use than a small axe or maybe a kukri machete?

Bear in mind I’m only starting out so don’t want to to be spending £££££ on kit that will rarely get used.

decorum

May 2, 2007
Warwickshire
>>> I was thinking a double edge Billhook would be of more use <<<

Billhooks are excellent tools ~ personally I would avoid the doubles and go for a single edged one as they're more usable. If you can get hold of one without a beak, all the better :cool: .

A saw would be your other auto choice ~ if you're a maker and tinkerer, have a search on 'bucksaw'.

Last edited:

sasquatch

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2008
Northampton
Where did you take the bowie to be sharpened? Just curious who would take an angle grinder to a decent edge...

Grendel

Settler
Mar 20, 2011
Southampton
It was one of those shoe repair places offering sharpening and they used there spinning stone grinder on it. Ended up scratching the blade and blueing the edge. Think I have managed to get the edge back with kitchen sharpener but blade is still scratched from where they only sharpened one side.

Last edited:

decorum

May 2, 2007
Warwickshire
I thought all billhooks had a beak otherwise surely they would be cleavers?

:D

Knighton%20BillHook.jpg

Pic from The Woodsmith's Store

No connections to seller etc ~ it was the first pic that I could find.

sasquatch

Jun 15, 2008
Northampton