ventile smock

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

topknot

Maker
Jun 26, 2006
bristol
3.JPG

This is my first attempt at making a ventile smock trying to stay away from army pattern smocks and keeping it simple and easy to make with minimun seams.1. two big front pockets.2. drawcord hem &hood.3.ajustable cuffs. 4.sleeves big to roll up.

Big Steve

Tenderfoot
Jun 5, 2006
Gloucester
Good job; that looks good mate. Did you use a commercial pattern? If so, which? if not, did you copy an existing garment? It looks like the left and right shoulder yolk and sleeve are all one piece, stitched along the underarm. Is this right? There is no rear view, so is the back one piece of material? I made something similar in the 90s, based on the now defunct Survival Aids' own ventile windshirt and it has lasted for years of travelling, being rugged, practical and effective,including a brief foray to the top of Kilimanjaro, which is why it looks pretty frayed now and needs replacing. Enjoy yours too!

topknot

Maker
Jun 26, 2006
bristol
No commercial pattern . I used my swanny bush shirt and a picture of a ww2 german cam smock and made my own pattern. I bought 2.5 mtrs by 60in wide of seconds cloth . This was folded in half and cut into a T shape. The leftover cloth was used to make the arms longer ,the hood ,the backs of pockets and the cuff tabs. The front was cut to sew in zips and hood,then the pocket backs,arm extensions and cuff tabs. The smock was then turned right side out to sew up the body and under the arms.

Big Steve

Tenderfoot
Jun 5, 2006
Gloucester