US Marine swap identification please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

darrenleroy

Nomad
Jul 15, 2007
London
Cheers, Lister. Just looked it up. Worth around £150. Not bad. Don't know whether to keep or sell it. I don't need it as I have my trusty old Mora Clipper!

Apr 8, 2009
Ashdown Forest
That should be a Strider DB-L (officially - Knife, Fixed, Camo) going to the NSN on the blade - 1095-01-531-5023

I amazed that that piece of showy kit has been given an NSN. Camo blade?! Crikey. They will be issuing those umbrella hats soon as well no doubt....

Not saying it isn't a good knife (frankly I have no knowledge of it), but a camo blade?!

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
I amazed that that piece of showy kit has been given an NSN. Camo blade?! Crikey. They will be issuing those umbrella hats soon as well no doubt....

Not saying it isn't a good knife (frankly I have no knowledge of it), but a camo blade?!

Almost everything has an NSN. Thet can be issued (the NSN) locally by the unit supply organization if the particular unit needs or wants something not in the normal supply chain. My squadron issued locally purchsed Buck 110s back in 1980 but they were obliged to give them a local NSN. Usually though the local #s have a specific number within the sequence that identifies it as such.

santaman2000

Jan 15, 2011
Florida
Almost everything has an NSN. Thet can be issued (the NSN) locally by the unit supply organization if the particular unit needs or wants something not in the normal supply chain. My squadron issued locally purchsed Buck 110s back in 1980 but they were obliged to give them a local NSN. Usually though the local #s have a specific number within the sequence that identifies it as such.

Why not a camo blade? I've seen rifles with camo barrels and stocks.

Apr 8, 2009