Thistle Garments - Military Spec Gore tex

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 18, 2012
Bedfordshire
Hi Guys and Gals

I know I am a newbie here, I have been watching and benifting from the wealth of experience here, I would just like to give you a shout to a Gore Tex Jacket from www.thistlegarments.co.uk . They make Gore Tex clothing direct for the military. I just thought that the olive green royal navy jacket might be useful to you. Although I have not field tested it yet the build quality seems much better than any other jacket at the price. £69.99 + pp

All the best to you all.

SCOMAN

Life Member
Dec 31, 2005
Perthshire
Hmmmmm. I wonder.............

I would tend to agree. Nevertheless I do have experience of the jacket. The initial roll out of G'tex was a heavy weight jacket with high abrasion resistance. As soon as the 'pusser' found out that they worked and people liked them they changed to a lighter weight fabric. It was still a good jacket, 1000's of times better than its predecessor but of a lighter more easily ripped fabric. It was not a very refined jacket as other modern ones would be but simple and it worked. The trousers were good too especially if you could get the heavier fabric.

Feb 18, 2012
Bedfordshire
Thanks SCOMAN.

It will be interesting to see how the jacket fares, it seems Ok. Once I have given it a few outings I will post a review. I was looking for an Olive green gore tex and the berghaus etc. was out of my price range, I know I could have got some surplus ones but as it is my first goretex I thought I would treat myself to a new one.

Feb 18, 2012
Bedfordshire
Thanks tiger stacker.