The Melt.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

MegaWoodsWalker

Forager
Jul 10, 2014
Connecticut USA
Here are some of my observations of the melt. The melt varies in different areas but tends to be between late winter and early spring. It could go into May or even later. Just depends on the area. I am no certified expert on anything, just thinking out load on my personal observations. For those hiking or camping in the melt it really can't be treated like winter or spring IMHO. As the margins of a field are neither woods nor grassland the melt is neither winter nor spring. It's also an opportunity to get cold and wet. Here is what I do to mitigate that and enjoy this short time of the year.

1. Clothing.

In the melt I prefer synthetics (fleece etc), wool and Gortex. Cotton is a no go. For deep winter with extreme cold there is a place for certain cotton garments but this isn't that type of winter. Layered clothing works great as the temps can be in the 50-60 range during the day then fall below freezing at night. It's very easy to have slush above the level of many boots.

Taller boots with water resistant pants. Gaiters are really nice this time of year and so are micro spikes/yaks tracks. Snowshoes aren't out of the question because post holing is a pain.

The taller boots or snowshoes will also help with deeper snow which might still be around.

Areas with poor drainage develop even worse drainage if that's even possible. It's very possible for these spots to freeze up over night. During deep winter these areas can be rock solid but now not so much. Best to place camps away from rivers, run-offs, streams and swampy areas. Goes without saying but conditions can change fast.