Teach me about light weight sleeping bags

Everything Mac

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 30, 2009
Scotland
Hi all - total noob when it comes to light weight kit.

I'd like to get a bag which is relatively warm but will fit in a 45ltr bag with the rest of my kit. - my current bag is the same size as my back pack. Fine if I use the bergan but way too big otherwise.

I had considered the British army jungle bag but I don't know the dimensions.

Any help appreciated.

Andy

Everything Mac

Nov 30, 2009
Scotland
Pricey indeed. They do look good though.

Is down the way to go then?? - as I said I really am a total noob to light weight stuff.

Cheers

redandshane

Native
Oct 20, 2007
Batheaston
For warmth to weight ratio you have to consider a down bag Tescos do one quite cheap which some people like. Down is generally more pricey though and is no good when wet
I have a Jungle bag its fine for summer use and that can be extended by using a fleece liner which is really good;that is probably your best budget option It packs down small but technology has moved way ahead of these bags
Modern sleeping bags by Nanok http://www.nanok.no/engelsk/page28/page28.html and others are fantastic and I was lucky enough to get one of these off lurch when he was getting rid of the older range or something;again this bag can be extended in seasons by using the fleece liner

Lasse

Nomad
Aug 17, 2007
Belgium
I use a Crux bag if I'm on a particularly long trip, tough as nails, packs small, weighs half a kilogram and it keeps me warm on cold nights. Pricey though.

:)
Do you have a model they don't sell anymore?
Their lightest model on the website, Torpedo 500, weighs 1190 grams. It does have half a kilo fill weight though ;)