Tarps & Ropes etc...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Chopper

Native
Sep 24, 2003
Kent.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been using a local supplier based in Strood Kent, for many years and thought he might be of interest to the members on BCUK. He is a semi retired ex Royal Navy rigger / sailmaker who can make you just about anything from any material you want. I have included details of three recent purchases for you to use as examples.

A 3.5m x 4.5m tarp with a brass eyelet every meter around the edge was made it is made from light weight military green fire retardant tent canvas and cost £60, which I dont think is a bad price for something made from scratch, the quality imo cannot be bettered. As for the weight its 4.5kg .
I wouls honestly say that it is the ideal size for hammocking if you need a dry living / cooking area.

Spike (thats his name) also supplies rope from the drum cut to your requirement, I bought some 8mm floating rope from him for 50p per meter, and that's his normal price, he will splice any loops that you want at a very small extra charge.

He also made me two 50mm x 4m webbing straps with steel camlock buckles and they cost me £5 each.

His range of skills is beyond me, so if there is anything you need I would suggest that you call him and ask, he even made a short canvas roof for my brothers landy, and it was a super job.

If there are any issues with being able to pay for things that you want I am happy to help with my paypal account and also if there is any problems with getting things mailed to you let me know and I can collect from Spike and post them on.

Spikes number is 01634-717106

Tarp1.jpg

Tarp2.jpg

Tarp3.jpg

leon-b

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 31, 2006
Who knows