Survival as a Hunter Gatherer

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Donny

Jan 7, 2008
Northampton, UK.
youtube.com
If you (the fairly experienced at foraging and trapping etc.) were to go on a long hike for, lets say, a few months and hiked across the more remote locations of Britain, would you be able to survive on merely hunting and foraging for food? Would there be enough to survive happily while getting enough healthy food and energy to continue with your hike?

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
I'm not experienced enough to say anything about this, but you may want to expand the question to a hypothetical situation (i.e. a genuine survival situation where you could use any means for gathering food) or a legal situation (where you must stay within the limits of current law).

Geoff

robin wood

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 29, 2007
derbyshire
www.robin-wood.co.uk
I quite fancied this type of thing 20 years ago when I used to travel, hitch hike around and rough camp a lot. I worked my way through Richard Maybe's "food for free" and found a few interesting taste treats like samphire but little that would seriously fill the belly or be a pleasing even as a baked potato. If you're on the coast you can easily fill up on shellfish, in land it's harder. So my answer

survive yes
happily no

Matt Weir

Jun 22, 2006
Tyldesley, Lancashire.
I'm not experienced enough to say anything about this, but you may want to expand the question to a hypothetical situation (i.e. a genuine survival situation where you could use any means for gathering food) or a legal situation (where you must stay within the limits of current law).

Geoff

Apologies for going OT but I saw your avatar and though "He's pinched Geoff's clef!".:D

Donny

Jan 7, 2008
Northampton, UK.
youtube.com

Geoff