Spinning (wool)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion
I've been having fun spinning recently. I got my drop spindles out and the Ashford Traditional spinning wheel that I bought after seeing it on a basket weaving course 2 years ago.

Despite being 35-40 years old, the Traditional is in a great condition and lovely to spin on. It's fairly small, but not that portable, so I've picked up a little Louet Victoria that weighs half as much and folds up flat.

Today I got the Victoria out for a first go and spent a very enjoyable hour spinning some wool.

I'm not a very proficient spinner, but it's fun and relaxing and hopefully I'll get better at it with practice.
IMG_20211031_184154795.jpg
IMG_20211022_181413137.jpg
IMG_20211020_184125194.jpgIMG_20211022_181457577.jpg

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
:)

I find spinning to be one of those totally restful, chill out, handcrafts. Himself says he likes the sound of the wheel while I work, and he sits nearby just reading peacefully.

I too have an Ashford (and a craftsman made Hebridean and a 'very' old flax wheel) and it's a lovely wheel to use. Very adaptable too if one wants a heavier or finer yarn. It's always reliable, and needs very little care or adjustment, I find.

What do you do with your yarn ? and do you dye it ?

I knit and weave with mine, and I do a fair bit of natural dyeing.

Do you spin flax too ?

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion
:)

I find spinning to be one of those totally restful, chill out, handcrafts. Himself says he likes the sound of the wheel while I work, and he sits nearby just reading peacefully.