some advice on my Polish Lavvu!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Barney Rubble

Settler
Sep 16, 2013
Rochester, Kent
youtube.com
Hi all, I'm wondering if a kind soul could offer me some advice on pitching my newly acquired polish Lavvu?

I'm fairly new to bushcraft and indeed this forum but as i prepare for my first camp during the may bank holiday, I've spent a lot of time reading lavvu reviews on this forum and thought I'd give one a try.

So I've buttoned it all together and have tried pitching it in the garden, I was very happy with the size of the tent so the next task was to test it for water resistance! This is where it went a bit wrong, as my wife showered the lavvu with the watering can I found that some water was coming in via the peak where the two hoods cover the pole. Esseentially there's a small gap at the first button where the two hoods overlap each other. I've not heard anyone complain of any issues in this regard (mostly its about what way round to pitch the lavvu!) so I'm left wondering if there's a technique that I'm not aware of?

Most grateful for any advice on offer.

Adze

Native
Oct 9, 2009
Cumbria
www.adamhughes.net
PIC_0100_zpsb34599b7.jpg

Best I could find I'm afraid... hopefully you can spot what I mean or someone else will chip in with a better pic.

If the weather holds I'll be pitching mine tomorrow so I'll get some better ones myself.

One thing I would suggest is to waterproof the button threads - in really heavy rain the fabric still sheds water perfectly, but once the threads attaching the buttons get soaked through they can start to drip. I doped mine with a mix of paraffin (candle) wax and petroleum jelly melted together. Used warm it's quickly wicked up by the thread but doesn't harden as much as straight paraffin wax so won't break away if you undo the buttons.