Solo Adirondacks Trip

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mattburgess

Tenderfoot
Jun 22, 2009
Wivenhoe
Wanted some other opinions really – I’m planning a 7 day trip next Autumn to the Adirondacks (inspired by Nessmuk and the after reading about the region). I’m pretty new to all things outdoors and have only really got into it over the last few years or so - mightily kicked started by my Ray Mears Bushcraft Fundamentals week that I got for my 40th (yes, another mid life crisis bushcrafter!). In the lead up to this trip I’m planning to:

1. Get as much outdoor camping experience as I can – including winter camping.
2. Do a navigation course
3. Learn how to canoe
4. Do a first aid course
5. Find out about the area, dangers routes etc.

All fine so far. The big down side is that none of my mates are really up for that sort of thing - or if they are they would have different priorities to me. I just want to take it real slow, enjoy nature, the space and practice bushcrafty thing! As it’s pretty unlikely I’m going to meet someone that I’d want to spend 7 days with (and likewise!) and has the same objectives as me, the only real option I have is to do a solo trip.

Needless to say it isn’t advisable to go it alone in a remote area – especially with my experience. I know there are a lot of safety precautions available now in terms of gadgets that track your progress via satellite and relay back to a selection of designated people, ditto there is one that can send a electronic distress signal if activated. Still, not a replacement for another pair of hands. However, I still want to do this even if it is on my own.

What do you guys think?

durulz

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 9, 2008
Elsewhere
I say do it!