Smoking Sawdust: Chainsaw Bar oil / Veg Oil Query

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

JonT

Feb 14, 2013
Bristol
Hi,

Hopefully someone will be able to clear this up for me.

I've been gathering and sawing up my own firewood for a couple of years now - always producing a tonne of sawdust that I had hoped to put to use in hot/cold smoking but shied away from when someone mentioned contamination by bar/chain mineral oil.

I vaguely recalled someone mentioning using veg oil - I have high hopes.

There's proprietary commercial Veg bar/chain oil - Husqy and Stihl make it but not heard whether this means any saw dust is "food grade".

Similarly I've yet to find anything conclusive that means I can nip down Morrisons and get a litre with a high rape/canola oil content and use that without knackering the chainsaw AND still produce food-grade saw dust from my activities.

Does anyone know for definite if regular veg oil can be used or similarly if the commercial "veg oils" produce safe non-toxic sawdust?

Thanks in advance.

Jon

bushwacker bob

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 22, 2003
STRANGEUS PLACEUS
Unless your chainsaw is faulty the contamination from oil is minimal. I would only use dried, seasoned sawdust for smoking as the tannin content of fresh oak chips/dust is too high. I would also make sure there is no yew, laurel, laburnum or any other toxic wood chippings. The smokery next door to my workshop spread out their saw chippings in the sun to ensure they are very dry.

Hairy Steve

Feb 17, 2010
Cornwall