Smock questions for fellow users

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Malta Convoy

Nov 6, 2022
USA/South Korea
Hello to all, old reader-turned-new member. I have some questions about smocks when you might have some free time, and I know of nowhere else to get solid feedback but on this website. I am relatively new to smocks, having been introduced to them by another US veteran, but I am a huge fan and now own multiple copies, of which I make regular and hard use in my area. So far, everything from Arktis: everything is holding up well in rain, wind, cold, and in mountain hiking use. Zero complaints and I am happy.

One thing I would like to know, is, why does their material vary? For instance, the Core products seem thicker and heavier than the rest. French CE, Olive Green, Irish DPM are all equally robust; M90K and PenCott GreenZone are thinner, and Flecktarn is thinner still, even though they were manufactured in the same year. Does anyone here know why this is?

Another question I have, is, are all smocks Made in UK, or some elsewhere? The tag says so, but Lara Tactical (France) did a tour of the UK facility and was told design is what Exeter does, and that many products are "made in the EU." Program can be found here:

I am wondering if factory location might account for differing quality.