Sleeping mats/winter gear

Phaestos

Sep 8, 2012
Manchester
Yello chaps!

Right, well seeing as I won't be popping over to Norway this winter due to a lack of funds/experience, I am hoping that I will make it out at least once or twice during the colder months, but confined to our own lovely shores.

As yet, I have zero experience in cold weather camping, hence why I'll be popping out when others from this fine forum will be there, namely those going to Drew's birthday bash at Middlewood in December. What I also lack is much gear. I have a bivi bag, two sleeping bags if an extra is needed, a ground sheet and a tarp. If you can tell, I'm hoping to bivi it. What I'm lacking is a sleeping mat and some cold weather clothing. The clothing I can handle in terms of price and availabilty, but mat is a bit of an issue.

I've had my eye on the multimat self inflator Woodlore sell for £50, but its still a bit steep for me in price. Really this a call out to ask if anyone a) can inform me as to things i should add to my shelter/sleep system, and b) has a spare high quality sleeping mat they might be willing to part with?

Cheers guys,

Matt

Teepee

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 15, 2010
Northamptonshire
Thermarest ridge rests are very good for the cold, R-value of 2.9 or thereabouts. Not too pricey, very comfy for CCF and won't puncture.

This and Southeys posted mats will augment another less warm mat very well.

MikeLA

May 17, 2011
Northumberland
Last edited:

Headshed

Forager
Nov 17, 2011
Warwick
I'd recommend alpkit's dirt bag, great mat. When it gets cold I add a sheet of reflectix (thermawrap) to increase the R value, which also doubles up as a sit mat.

Phaestos

Sep 8, 2012
Manchester