Skin allergy, Buffalo pile

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bigboned

Forager
Feb 17, 2016
Ireland
Hopefully in the right place!

I’ve been using buffalo pertex and pile for around 25 years but in the last couple of years have developed psoriasis so I get rashes etc real easily. Have tried various washing powders/ tech wash etc but try as I might the pile now gives me awful ‘heat’ rashes inside my elbows. I tend not to wear long sleeves for same reason, I tried this under my buffalo but it’s become very uncomfortable.

I’m thinking my only choice is to ditch the pile and go with a more traditional outer garment that has a ‘smoother’ liner in which case I need suggestions!

Insulated, long length ( parka type) I have an old waterproof shell but I’d like something that could replace it maybe on the lines of a north face mcmurdo parka
I’ve not got many layers as I’ve not needed them - I have too much buffalo lol . Is there such a thing as a ‘technical’ all in one like a parka? ( usually lighter and better quality fabrics)

I’m in Ireland so not many shops to try on, it rains all the time and is starting to get colder so down is out
Cheers
Andy

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
The Carhartt Arctic Duck model has a quilted lining that's comfortable to -15C or so.
I melt in that coat at 0C. You need a wind blocker and a blanket liner.

I'd be shopping for a really waterproof shell 4X large to go over everything.
For that, I'd be down on the waterfront at the local Chandler.

Where you live, I'd bring a Carhartt Canyon model coat. Wear a nice wool sweater under that.

I know this makes me look very brand loyal but it seems that you get what you pay for and the Carhartts are not so bad.
The game here is not to get any blood on my coat during hunting season!

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire