Serving board advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Rich D

Forager
Jan 2, 2014
Nottingham
So total newby to wood (done tent pegs, feather sticks etc but nothing "proper")
I have a collection of different sized cutting and chopping boards and have always fancied a really large one to go down the center of our table to serve things on (breads, salami etc), but been put off by the price.
Got hold of an old pine (i think) cupboard top, due to us redecorating. I've shaped it, made it a bit rustic and less like a plank on the edges with my mora.
So i'll pop some photos up later tonight, but a couple of questions for those of you with some experience please...
I'm going to sand it down, some info online suggests after the initial sanding to wet the wood, then let it dry, and then sand again as this raises the grain and then can give a smoother finish.

There's also as many different opinions on oiling it as there are google search results. mineral oil, oil then beeswax after, olive oil, veg oil etc. As it's not green I'm guessing that I don't need to soak it in oil, but as I'm going to be serving food on it I'd like it to be food safe, and also not taint the food or go rancid.
I'm not using it as a chopping board, more of a serving thing so it being damaged by knives shouldn't be a problem.

All advice and opinions welcome, cheers Rich

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
Easy one, Rich - just get a small bottle of Walnut oil, give your board a coat of that, let it dry then do it again, and a third time; a couple of days after the third coat, it'll be fine for years and you can just wash it over with normal dish water and dry it.