Safe Meths burner use and other tips

lostplanet

Aug 18, 2005
Kent
I just received a Tatonka Meths burner and simmer ring and as I am new to meths burning for cooking, I am looking for advice and tips for safe and successful use of this burner.

I also have a honey stove and hive upgrade kit to try out with the burner soon.

After a quick search on google I came accross this which brings up some points that may not necesarily be obvious:
http://www.swindon.gov.uk/trangia_-_advice_on_use_of_meths.pdf

Thanks,

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
The only thing to watch with meths is sometimes it can be hard to tell if it's lit or not just by looking at it. Same rules apply as for other fuels though, such as don't spill it or knock over, store in a suitable container and don't pick the stove up when it's still hot.

The Big Lebowski

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 11, 2010
Sunny Wales!
And dont set it where the dog can run past, knocking it over and causing a small fire... not that thats happened to me mind.

*cough*

TBL.

Nat

Sep 4, 2007
York, North Yorkshire
I've got a Highlander meths burner which leaks when i transport it if i have meths in it. The simmer ring is a bit pants aswell. If you need to transport it with meths in, i'd put it in a margarine tub

gregorach

Sep 15, 2005
Edinburgh
The big one for meths stoves is not to refill while the stove's still hot. I don't care if your brew is only a few seconds from boiling when your stove goes out - let it cool before you refill it. Otherwise the fuel will evaporate as you pour it into the hot stove, forming a lovely explosive cloud of vapour just waiting for you to relight the stove... To quote Adam Savage: "Am I missing an eyebrow?" ;)

Andy BB

Apr 19, 2010
Hampshire
Its quite funny, reading the warnings about Meths on that pdf. Yes, of course it can be dangerous if misused, but so can pretty much anything - and they make it sound like Uranium-235!