Review: Bergans Morgedal Smock Anorak

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

parker_knoll

May 18, 2015
London
I wanted to post a review of the popular Morgedal anorak. I've been wearing mine for about 18 months now and strangely, although it's a very imperfect garment in many ways, I keep coming back to it.

GOOD POINTS

Shape
It's longish, reaching mid thigh on me (6'1" wearing an XL), and long enough that when you sit you sit on the coat itself

Pockets
Both are really well sized, and the lower pocket reaches right across: e.g. although it has two openings it's not two pockets, it's one. I carried a hammer around in there the other day.

Zips
The zips have really big metal pull rings which I find easy to find and grab, including with gloves

Build and materials
The fabric is very soft to the touch and very flexible - you can easily ball this up and put it in a small backpack despite its size; and while the seams don't seem particularly heavy I've had no problems with the heavy use i give to the pockets, for example

Breathability
It's very light and breathable - I regularly cycle in it, and run when I have to. Run up a hill and you don't end up sweaty. In fact, it's so light it adds almost no extra insulation at all. As someone commented previously on the forum, it's a "cold" garment. It doesn't stop the wind much either - see below. Woodlore describe it as "Highly breathable", "Windproof" and "Retains body heat". I'd certainly agree with the former, not so sure about other two. The wind has a tendency to blow through it, so you need to make allowance for that underneath, especially if using out on the water as I sometimes do.

Chin protection: nice and soft, just high enough to cover the mouth

BAD POINTS

Waterproofing