Red Hunters Axe - Cegga, version 1

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mirius

Nomad
Jun 2, 2007
North Surrey
First my apologies for taking so long in writing this, it's an embarassing thing having agreed to write one in return for getting the axe at such an incredibly low price, and so I would personally offer my apologies to Red and Cegga.

Now, I am a novice with axes, one reason it's taken me so long to write this, but my first impressions of getting the box delivered was that I'd made some huge mistake as surely only a toy could fit in there. Opening it though relieved those fears and the axe itself proved to be superbly balanced, both holding up near the head for detailed work and at the bottom of the haft. The craftsmanship is clear even to an inexperienced eye and the level of finish is excellent with the head being polished clean of all casting and manufacturing marks. The haft I had been dreading being varnished, but instead the straight grain was easily visible under the oil finish. All in all, more what might be expected of a good knife and not a tool more normally relegated to utilitarian end of the scale.

The mask is well made in a good weight of leather, and while the closure is unusual it seems to work well. The only thing I could fault it on would be the small belt loop, but then I tend to use a webbing belt and not a leather one.