Re-handling a Mora - How I did it. (v. pic heavy)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

outdoorpaddy

Nomad
Mar 21, 2011
Northern Ireland
Hello Folks!

It has been quite some time since I contributed anything on this forum, so I best re-introduce myself. I'm Patrick, I'm a 2nd year forestry student at University College Dublin and I really enjoy bushcraft and traditional crafts, especially the sort that involves playing with axes and knives - as you are about to see in this post.

Anyhow, on with the interesting stuff!

How I re-handled my Mora.

Like many of us here I started out using ye olde faithful mora, and why not? They're dead cheap, virtually indestructible, take and hold a great edge and due to these attributes, are basically dispensable. But after prolonged use you really start to notice the hollow rattle from the sheath and the imperfect handle shape and texture. After three years I felt I was ready for a knife with a wooden handle, but I really wanted to make it myself, fitted to my own hand. At the time I had just bought two mora companion robusts from woodlore in their special offer so i figured I would use one of them for my first project, given that i was bound to make mistakes in my first knife re-handling.
Thankfully I had the issue of the bushcraft magazine with Ben Orford's tutorial on how to re-handle your mora which was really useful, i used this as my guide throughout the process.

I sawed the existing handle off the mora, taking care not to scratch the blade at any point, it really is a good idea to tape up the blade properly to protect yourself and the blade. This part was surprisingly difficult just because the plastic handles are fitted so incredibly well, it does take a lot of force to pry off certain parts of it.