Ray Mears on YouTube

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Adze

Native
Oct 9, 2009
Cumbria
www.adamhughes.net
The trouble with being self-taught with woods stuff, is that something will eventually come along which has killed lots of people before you, and not knowing that, you have to survive and re-learn the knowledge in order to pass it on.
Absolutely! This traverses every field, I believe. Fortunately for modern man most of the fields no longer exact such a price and kill you on your fledgling attempt should it go awry. However, the basic lesson is the same, it is far easier and safer to learn from someone who has been there and done it than to experiment in a field where lessons have already been learned.

Last edited:

pysen78

Forager
Oct 10, 2013
Stockholm
If that is an unpolished version of Ray's tutorials, then his current teaching skills must be incredible.

His physique means nothing, the fact that he was chosen to impart his skills to military instructors must mean that he's well known and respected beyond our seemingly small world.

Many people in the UK (including me before I went to work in Sweden), assume that the average Scandinavian has the skills to get by in the wilderness. While this was probably the case 40 years ago, when I told the 20 and 30 somethings in my office that I was going walking and camping on unmarked (or for that matter , marked) trails, in winter, they were horrified.

Cheers, Michael.

What he said!

I enjoyed this video a lot. I did my conscript time in the army '98-'99 and can relate to the knowledge base of the people in the room with Ray. They were most likely not conscripts but cadets, but still.