A review of 'An Evening with Ray Mears' on Thursday!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

pibbleb

Settler
Apr 25, 2006
Sussex, England
Hi

This is my first attempt at a review! It's a little long I'm afraid!

Thursday the 18th is going to be largely remembered for the tremendous storm that lashed the UK. But for some of us, we will also remember it for battling the weather to see Ray Mears at the Royal Assembly, Tunbridge Wells, a battle that whilst not quite on par with those seen on shows such as Extreme Survival certainly for some worth an equal mention.
My wife and I arrived at the theatre at approximately 7.10 having had a lovely dinner at an Italian Restaurant called Strada which was just around the corner from the theatre and worthy of a plug.
As you sit and wait for such events to start you often can't help yourself but scan the crowd for people you know , and whilst looking for fellow BCUK types I was struck by just how eclectic the group gathering was. They seemed to fall into two main groups, armchair Ray fans and bushcrafters, and pretty much every group in between were represented. A true measure of just how popular both the man and the subject has become over recent years. Whilst some may express some concern over the subject perhaps becoming ‘trendy’ or part of pop culture, who can forget Ray flirting with Jo Whiley on Radio 1, it was rather clear that these people were not just here to see the man, but to learn of his adventures and share in what seems to be an often spiritual journey for him.