random thoughts on spoon shapes

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
OK - I am no expert on spoon carving .... I find that compared to the real experts my spoons are crude and I take far too long to carve them ... but they give me great satisfaction and I love using them!
My subject for discussion here is the shape of the spoon - not how to achieve that shape :)
In general I was always taught to choose a piece of wood that had the natural curve you want in a spoon, grown into it or to carve the spoon to give the strength where it is needed - at the join between bowl or handle.
I see a lot of "bush carved" spoons that have no curve to them at all (not just bushcrafters spoons but also locally made spoons in the African spoons) and which have thick walled, deep bowls and thick handles - all of which add up (in my eyes at least) to an inelegant if usable spoon.

If you look at a standard dining table spoon you will see (usually!) a handle that not only is wider at the base compared to the neck but also of very thin profile and with a very obvious curve to the profile as well.
To mimic this in a spoon, where the woods grain does not follow the curve you want for an elegant wooden spoon, you will want to shape the neck to give strength and hopefully avoid the failure of the spoon due to the neck snapping where the integrety of the grain is compromised by the shaping.
DSCF5814.jpg

To achieve this, I was taught to carve the neck of the bowl thin in plan view but deep in profile, tapering the shape in plan and profile to morph into the wide in plan view, thin in profile handle section.
neck to bowl transition involves an equally subtle continuation of the neck shape to the deepest part of the spoons bowl, forming a rib or keel effect to give strength to the neck as well as an attractive, elegant shape.
DSCF5815.jpg