Quite possibly the perfect job?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Jackdaw

My life hasn't always been this idyllic, but what it has given me is a good perspective on when it's going well.

As some of you may know, I am an ecological consultant living in East Yorkshire and currently it is my busy time. What you may not know is that I am still recovering from a broken leg (tibial plateau fracture) that happened whilst on exercise with the Army Reserve. As I run my own business I was pretty convinced that I was going to be out of business this year and would likely lose my clients for at least a year if not more. Financially I would be okay and would be looked after by the Army Reserve but I didn't really want to have to rebuild an already relatively new company from scratch again.

So what was the plan? I decided that I was going to work anyway but use my own Reservists to do the work for me. Although most of the work I do requires a licence from the Statutory Nature Conservation Organisation (Natural England, Scottish Natural Heritage etc.) I can accredit others to work on my behalf under my own licence so long as they have had the appropriate training. Most of my soldiers are either in temporary employment or are unemployed outside of the Army Reserve. This is usually a choice they make so that they can take advantage of all the training opportunities, and previously operational tours, that are on offer. For example, last training year my guys have been to Kenya and Cyprus as well as some interesting exchange visits to the USA and Canada.