question about using mild steel for cooking with.

Badger74

Jun 10, 2008
Ex Leeds, now Killala
Don't know if this is in the right place and/or a stupid question but:

Does anyone know of any health issues that using untreated mild steel might cause or has others used it without a qualm?

sasquatch

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2008
Northampton
I'm no expert but I know galvanised steel is bad news when heated due to the fumes released. Aluminium was believed to cause bad things but I don't think it's actually been proven. As far as I'm aware mild steel should be fine. Best to wait for someone who knows what they're talking about to verify that for you thought...

Badger74

Jun 10, 2008
Ex Leeds, now Killala
Thanks, I knew about the galvanised steel issue and now that you mentioned it very vaugely about the aluminium. I'm thinking of making a 1ish litre pot out of mild steel to use for an medieval wild camp I plan on doing using as close to authentic as possible. I've seen an image of a 15th century billy can istead of a cast or clay pot.

sasquatch

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2008
Northampton
I don't think mild steel should be a problem, I'd just burn it in a couple times before cooking or drinking the water from it...I've done my own stainless billy cans and haven't mutated yet.

Beardy Adam

Tenderfoot
Sep 7, 2010
West Yorkshire
Thanks, I knew about the galvanised steel issue and now that you mentioned it very vaugely about the aluminium. I'm thinking of making a 1ish litre pot out of mild steel to use for an medieval wild camp I plan on doing using as close to authentic as possible. I've seen an image of a 15th century billy can istead of a cast or clay pot.

Wow that sounds interesting. Be sure to post a trip report with pictures, I'd be very intrigued to see what kind of equipment they used just out of curiosity. :)