Plantlore

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Apr 26, 2004
surry
I have just got back from a lovely day at Wisely Botanical Gardens. Plants and their uses has always been a great interest of mine. I am now an expert on Birds of Paradise, African Lilys, Crocosmia's and Omphalodes; could anyone enlighten me on their applictions within the bushcraft world?

Zacary

Tenderfoot
Aug 14, 2004
Where is the best place for a beginner to go to learn more about plants as this is something I would like to learn.

TheViking

Native
Jun 3, 2004
Hi...

Take a look at the Collins Gem - Food for Free
But be aware that many of the edible plants today are easily mistaken and only one mouthfull can kill you! Be absolutely sure that the plant you are holding are edible! Some plants can, when boiled, make poisonous damps and some are toxic just by touching.

TheViking

Native
Jun 3, 2004
Hi...

Make sure that you have solid knowledge to plants! Only one taste of the wrong plant can kill you! Some plants, when boiled, make damps that are poisonous! Some plants are toxic just by touch. Be 110% sure, that it's the right and the best is to doublecheck!
The book you buy MUST have photographs! Drawings won't do any good rather than kill you or make you sick. I have seen a SAS book written by Peter Darman. It is OK, but not super good. He drawed all the pictures of plants, seaweed, lichen and fungi.
I don't give much for the plant test...! :wink: That one is only in big time emergency and only when you're gonna' die anyway. My knowledge though, others are welcome to have another opinion, but let's not make a discussion like the dandelion on this!! :biggthump

Cheers :uu:

Ginger

Apr 8, 2004