Papuan Axe Treat (not sure which forum to put this in)

trekkingnut

Settler
Jul 18, 2010
Wiltshire
Morning all,

This will hopefully be a treat and something that we can all appreciate. As some of you may or may not know I am an expedition manager and drag poor scientists to some of the more remote parts of the globe.

Whilst on my travels I came across stone axes in papua and thought you guys would appreciate the uniqueness and craftsmanship that went into making it.

Though not strictly British bushcraft it is definitely the real deal.

These are hastily taken photos but hopefully show you the technique and materials (ish) used in the making of this beautiful hand Axe. (Stove is for size reference only and was not made my native Papuans)

IMG_5045.JPG

IMG_5046.JPG

IMG_5047.JPG

IMG_5049.JPG

IMG_5050.JPG

IMG_5051.JPG

Hope you guys all enjoy the photos!

trekkingnut

Settler
Jul 18, 2010
Wiltshire
might need a mod to stick pic heavy on that title.... i resized everything to make it a lot smaller but doesnt seem to have worked so well on this site....

trekkingnut

Settler
Jul 18, 2010
Wiltshire
Is that ceremonial or practical?
Looks great!

that is a practical sized hand Axe made for use around the house/smaller tasks. they had a much bigger one for chopping down trees etc. though of course if they can get it they will use a metal one but this is how they have been made since the dawn of time in Papua and in many places still are made and used.

It doesnt rely on a whopping great amount of force to chop the tree as a metal axe does, if you try them like that then the head snaps off very rapidly. more a gentle whipping action that relies on a very heavy head compared to a feather light handle.

Retired Member southey

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jun 4, 2006
your house!